The Effingham Daily News was having telephone difficulties, but the installation of a new telephone system on Thursday should remedy this.

You can always call our general switchboard and get an automated directory: 217-347-7151. But our information and publicity teams now also have direct telephone lines.

To reach our editor and publicity director, Amy Winter, call 217-347-7157. You can also email her at amy.winter@effinghamdailynews.com

A general line for the newsroom is 217-347-7152. You can also email press releases and photos for the community page and company page to news@effinghamdailynews.com This is also a good place to send information about upcoming events you want to alert us to for possible news coverage, or to provide news tips that you think we should check out.

For all things news, you can always contact me – Jeff Long, the editor – directly at 217-347-7156. My email is jeff.long@effinghamdailynews.com

Let me know what news you think will be good for the front page, or story ideas for our many magazines – the quarterly ‘Effingham Magazine’, the bi-annual ‘A Day Away’ and the annual ‘Progress’. Don’t forget our annual Far Fair sections dedicated to our region’s thriving agricultural industry and the Effingham County Fair. (My grandkids can’t wait for the 2022 fair. And neither can I.)

Our editor, Cathy Griffith, oversees the community news, business page and obituaries. She can also answer any other questions about news coverage. Contact her at 618-510-9180 or by email at cathy.griffith@effinghamdailynews.com

Charles Mills covers Effingham County, Altamont and various other surrounding communities. While we search for a reporter to replace Zach Roth, who has since moved on to a larger newspaper, Charles is also filling in coverage for the town of Effingham and Unit 40. Contact him at 618-510-9226 or by email charles .mills@effinghamdailynews.com

Alex Wallner is our sportswriter. Contact him at 618-510-9231 or by email at alex.wallner@effinghamdailynews.com

Jody Hardiek is our Advertising Sales Manager. Contact her at 217-347-7155 or by email at jody.hardiek@effinghamdailynews.com

DeeAnn Bauguss is an advertising sales associate. Contact her at 618-510-9232 or by email at deeann.bauguss@effinghamdailynews.com

Julie Harkins is also an advertising sales associate. She can be reached at 618-510-9233 or by email at julie.harkins@effinghamdailynews.com

Contact Chantal Hosin to place a classified ad at 217-347-7153. Classifieds can also be emailed to Classifieds@effinghamdailynews.com

If you missed your newspaper, or would like to subscribe to the newspaper or sign up for unlimited digital access or both, call our switchboard at 217-347-7151. You can also email our broadcast department at circulation@effinghamdailynews.com

Speaking of digital access, an interesting feature of our website is the “e-paper” – a digital replica of our printed newspaper. At the top of our effinghamdailynews.com website, you will see a link to the electronic document.

Subscribers can read replicas of the journal dating back to 2013 by clicking “Search Archive” on the right-hand side once in the e-journal. This is a great feature if you want to find a particular news item, community event or memorable game on our sports pages. You can download a PDF of this page or this entire edition by clicking on “pages” on the right.